At Royal Oak Farm we pride ourselves in making sure every guest has a warm welcome and a relaxing stay, whether it’s in our Swallow View Cottage or our Stargazing Cabins. Here are a selection of guest reviews of Royal Oak Farm by visitors who have stayed with us recently.

We spent a wonderful week at the stargazing cabin. The cabin was really spacious, well equipped and the bed was super comfy. We loved the fire pit and the bath, even in the rain! Poppy & Paul were great hosts – really friendly, quick to respond to any queries but also left us to it. We would 100% recommend and will hopefully return in the not too distant future! (Rowenna, August 2020)

My boyfriend and I loved staying at Poppy and Paul’s place and will definitely come back again. The cabin was a perfect cosy size with very clean and modern facilities. We loved cooking our dinner on the fire pit and eating on the porch watching the stars, was very magical! My favourite touch to the cabin was the outdoor bath which was a real treat to end our weekend away. The cabin is perfectly secluded to feel like you really are on your own in the woods yet still very accessible. (Arusha, August 2020)

Couldn’t have asked for more perfect spot to escape for a few days. The cabin is absolutely perfect for switching off and getting away and is finished to a really high standard (the shower and bath are superb!). On a clear night it really is a stargazer’s dream, haven’t seen so many stars in a long time! Despite being away from it all, the location is very accessible to the local town and we got some brilliant suggestions from Poppy. Would 100% recommend. (Tom, August 2020)

Poppy and Paul’s place is idyllic. For a rural retreat, you can’t get much better. The sunset views are fabulous, and when there’s a clear night, the stargazing cabin really WOWS! The cabin was super clean and was everything we hoped for and more. What a lovely place – will be recommending to friends and family. Thank you for your kind hospitality from start to finish. (Jessica, September 2020)

This place truly is a relaxing retreat for people wanting to escape a busy life. The location is dreamy, nestled in the corner of a fruit farm, under trees. The only noises we heard were the local live stock and birds. The cabin is compact with everything needed for a stress free stay: From kitchen essentials; to logs for the fire and a powerful shower. It is finished to a high standard that feels more home from home, than home to woods. We were able to be left to our own devices to come and go as we pleased- which was perfect for us. The local area has some beautiful scenery too. Highly recommend! (Esme, August 2020)

Poppy and Paul were great hosts and their place is lovely. They were very friendly and welcoming, and really responsive to any questions, giving us helpful tips about the local area. The cabin is great! We were the first visitors and felt very lucky. The huge window above the bed is amazing for star gazing, and having breakfast on the sun trap decking and dinner by the fire pit was lovely. Great long weekend on Royal Oak Farm, we’d thoroughly recommend it if you want a beautiful, relaxing escape away. (Corrine, August 2020)

Ursa is a lovely cabin in a quiet location. The hosts are friendly and quick to respond to questions. The postcode takes you to the door. What make this place stand out for me, is the quiet. There is very little noise. The nearest town is about 5 miles away and the nearest road is quiet. At night, it’s dark. Properly dark with no light pollution. When we stayed it was a bit cloudy, but I’ve never seen stars like it. Absolutely breathtaking. We were also lucky enough to have deer outside of the window in the morning and evening. A great place to just ‘switch off’ for a couple of days. (Annie, August 2020)

The cabin was definitely a notch up from glamping… it really is a tiny house with all you need. A lovely bathroom with very good shower and we’ll equipped kitchen. The outside bath is inspired, it was great fun having a night time soak under the rustling trees, listening to the owls. The perfect end to a day of long walks by the stunning Southwest coast path and swimming in the river Otter. (Hannah, September 2020)

This cabin is a hidden gem. We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin, it was beautiful inside and out. It has everything you need and the touches outside like the fairy lights, the bath and little fire pit, all give it a bit of character. So peaceful and the skylight window over the bed is brilliant for stargazing at night. We will definitely be back! (Kerrie, October 2020)

Our stay in Poppy and Paul’s cabin was very comfortable. It was clear they’d thought very hard about the little touches to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The log fire was a real treat and we had plenty of fuel and kindling for making the place cosy in the long autumn evenings. Bathing under the stars in the outdoor bath with the wind rustling the trees was a real treat, and the indoor shower was an easy and spacious alternative. The kitchen, too, was very well-equipped and we prepared several meals on the gas hob without a problem. There were several maps and guidebooks detailing local walks, with the south coast a short drive away. We would recommend the cabin for anyone who fancies a quiet countryside retreat close to nature. (Oliver, October 2020)

Beautiful off grid stargazing cabin perfect for those seeking peace and quiet. Comfy bed, good amenities and walking distance to a good, local pub. Poppy and Paul are lovely too, really accommodating and good local tips. (Alex, October 2020)

The cabin is perfect for a quiet couple’s getaway to have a bit of time away from it all, Poppy and Paul are great hosts and all the information that they provided about the local area was really great as well. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cabin to anyone! (Daniel, October 2020)

Poppy and Paul are great hosts. Their cabin is fantastic. It is in a secluded and charming location, perfect for a quiet getaway. Outstanding value for money. The bath was a real special touch. Couldn’t recommend enough. (Ben, October 2020)

A delightful farm in beautiful surroundings made this a lovely stay in Devon. Poppy and Paul are attentive and helpful without being intrusive and were quick to respond when we needed anything. The farm is beautiful with breathtaking views in every direction. A great place for a holiday for any couple! (Matt, October 2020)

Friendly hosts and a spotless cabin which was warm and toasty from the fun log burner.  (Douglas, October 2020)

Paul and Poppy had a book with information about the cabin and some great places to visit nearby. There were some games left for us to use which was thoughtful. The bath outside was fantastic and the charming woodburner kept us cosy inside. Thank you both for an amazing weekend. (Anna, November 2020)

Thank you so much for welcoming us to Swallow View while we were waiting to move into our new home.  The cottage is so cosy and spacious that we felt right at home with lots of storage areas to shut off from the main part of the cottage so we never felt the place was untidy.  We had all the kitchen equipment you could ask for, the furnishings were very tasteful and comfortable, the wifi was really fast (a must have since we were working from home) and Now TV was a pleasant surprise.  We were lucky enough to be with you during strawberry season and WOW was that a revelation!!  We’ve never tasted such amazingly sweet fruit and we loved popping out at the crack of dawn to pick a punnet or two for breakfast before the locals arrived for their share.  Your mum’s scones were also to die for Poppy and the cream teas were a delight, beautifully presented and eaten al fresco while the swallows darted around providing the entertainment. The farm is so calming, with acres of land and spectacular views of surrounding countryside as far as the eye could see.  The skies were a real joy filled with fabulous sunsets and stars on clear nights.  The whole area is impressively beautiful and the farm is quiet and rural but very close to lots of amenities and several beaches.  You were wonderful hosts and we couldn’t have chosen a better place to spend our time while we were between homes.  Many thanks and look forward to catching up with you soon that we’re only a few miles away!! (Kate and Roy, Jun-August 2020)

What a great location to explore Devon and get to the Jurassic Coast – I even found a fossil on one of the suggested beaches! The cottage was extremely comfortable: super comfy king-size bed, large lounge with TV and great WiFi connection and a super power-shower in the modern bathroom. I loved watching the beautiful sunsets and gazing up at the stars. I would definitely recommend to others looking for a quiet getaway that’s also close to the coast and nearby restaurants and pubs. I’ll be back again soon! (Paul, August 2020)

We have loved every moment being here. The cottage has been lovely and cosy to come back to after our long walks around the local area and on the farm. It was also a fantastic place to stay in while celebrating our engagement! We have loved watching the sun set over the fantastic view and enjoyed watching the birds in the morning from the kitchen window. Thank you so much Poppy and Paul, you have a fantastic place here and we wish you all the best. (Sam and James, September, 2020)

A modern country cottage in beautiful surroundings, which was perfect for exploring this lovely part of the world, as well as being able to ‘work from home’ – very comfortable living accommodation and super WiFi speed. I would certainly recommend to others looking for a longer stay in a rural location. (Duncan, September 2020)

A lovely, quiet cottage which was perfect for getting away from city life and provided a great base to work from for the month. (Stuart, October 2020)

Book direct with us for the best deal!
Please give us a call or e-mail [email protected] to confirm the price and complete your booking. If you’d like to book over the phone, please call us on 01404 819237 and we will be more than happy to assist.

We’d love to know what you thought of your stay at Royal Oak Farm in Devon, so please get in touch to let us know! We have a guest book in every cottage and cabin, or you can email us or post your review to AirBnB if you booked that way!